

Transportation Safety Board Meeting Minutes

01/20/04

DRAFT

Capital – House Room 2, 1st Floor

Chair: Bruce Wingo Administrative Assistant: Audrey Odum

Board Bruce Wingo (Chair), Gloria Berkley, Allan Druschitz, Paul Henegar,

Dee Bowles, Melvin Robertson, John Mazza, Bill Cofer, Lynn Newcomb

John Coates

Bill Selden (Not Present)

DMV Staff: Vince Burgess, Audrey Odum, Lynn Talley, Bruce Biondo

Special Bill Leighty, Chief of Staff

Lt. Col. Steve Flaherty, Superintendent of State Police

Ralph Davis, Deputy Secretary of Transportation

Al Eisenberg, House of Delegates and Past Board Member Woodrow Wilkerson and Melvin Harrell. Past Board Members

Kristen Allen, NHTSA Representative

Speakers: Bob Breitenbach, Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU)

Jim Cannon, Virginia Coalition of Motorcyclist (VCOM)

Chair Wingo called meeting to order and thanked everyone for attending. Chair Wingo turned floor over to Deputy Secretary Ralph Davis for welcoming remarks.

Deputy Secretary of Transportation, Ralph Davis welcomed everyone and recognized Chief of Staff Bill Leighty and Superintendent of State Police Lt. Col. Steve Flaherty. Mr. Davis informed the Board that the primary focus for this year's General Assembly will be the Governor's tax reform. He also recognized other key proposed legislation relating to DUI issues and mentioned several bills relating to primary seatbelt. He also recognized the Board for all the work they do.

Special guest Chief of Staff Bill Leighty and Superintendent of State Police Lt. Col. Steve Flaherty gave brief remarks relating to transportation safety and reemphasize the importance of the Board and thanked them for all they do.

Special guest Delegate Al Eisenberg arrived and recognized the Board and updated the Board on his brief tenure as a Delegate.

Chair Wingo asked Vince Burgess to call roll. Representation was sufficient for a quorum.

BOARD BUSINESS

Chair Wingo requested the Board review minutes from the November 2003 meeting. Approved with no amendments.

Vince Burgess provided an update on past action request regarding injury data, motorcycle education and the ACTS Conference.

Nominating Committee Chair, John Mazza brought forth to the Board the slate for Chair and Vice-Chair of the Board. Nominations were Paul Henegar for Chair and Alan Druschitz for Vice-Chair. Board vote was unanimous for the slate. Chair Mazza then recognized current Chair of the Board, Bruce Wingo for his dedication to the Board and for a job well done.

Standing Reports

Vince Burgess provided an overview of crash statistics.

Action: Prepare cumulative numbers relating to injury data provided to Board.

Lynn Talley discussed the financial report with Board and updated them on the new FY05 Grant Application Process – Timeline.

Action: Board requested a breakdown of mini-grant funds for localities.

Presentations

Bob Britenbach with VCU presented brief overviews of safety related data prepared for the 04 General Assembly.

Jim Cannon with VCOM updated the Board on Virginia school's Motorcycle/Driver Ed Unit of Instruction.

Chair Bruce Wingo recognized and presented Resolutions to past Board members, Woodrow Wilkerson and Melvin Harrell.

New Business from Floor

Vince Burgess brought to the Boards attention the concerns of constituent J. J. Bahen, Jr. concerning misuse of federal traffic safety funds for traffic enforcement. He also indicated that Mr. Bahen would be invited to this year's full Board meeting covering FY05 grants.

Public Comment

None

Date of Future Meetings

ACTS Conference, May 12-13, 2004

Norfolk Waterside Marriott

May 11 – Board Meeting & Dinner

May 12 – Full day of Conference Activities

May 13 – Awards Luncheon

Meeting Adjourned